6. Farewell Speech (School)

This speech is a part of this series.

Respected Principal, Teachers and My Dear Friends,

12 years ago, when my parents admitted me to this school, they hoped that I’d be coming out with a bundle of certificates, well behaved manners and most importantly an exemplary marksheet.

However, due to the fact that God has not made us all alike, nothing of that sort happened. The only certificate I have is my passing certificate for 10th standard, I have learnt certain manners during my stay here which are not that good, and as for my marksheet- the less said, the better.

I will not say breezy messages, or teach you any of the life’s important lessons. However, since everyone is giving an important message and all- I’ll chip in with my words of wisdom. 30 years later, when I’d be great an all, you will tell your children that you had heard Sameer Jha deliver his first speech. Oh how your heart would swell with pride at the thought.

Anyways, in order to inspire the student in you to be smart in the life to come I’ll narrate you a story my cousin told me. Once, what happened was my cousin was studying in some college and lived in a hostel. And, since he is my cousin and very similar to me, his attendance was in shambles. So, as was the policy of the college a letter was sent home, stating so. Now, in such a situation a normal person would experience fear and tension. But, not my cousin. He saw a window of opportunity. He asked his mother to deposit 500 Rs. into his account as he needed a really good alarm clock to wake him up in the morning. A logically genius move.

I am not telling you to cheat your mothers like him. Since, morally unacceptable behavior no matter how brilliant it is, accounts as bad karma. And, you all know that Karma is like that girl who broke your heart. A you know what.

Anyways, I’ll move on to my second inspirational story. It’s a popular story in general, but I am sure it’ll not be narrated to you by a teacher or anything. There was this man who worked in a school, which also had a church besides it. His job was to ring the bell every time a period got over.

Once what happened, was that a government rule came and all employees who had not studied till 5th standard were thrown out. This man was a complete illiterate, and he lost his job one wretched afternoon. Coming out, he had no idea as to how he would feed his children and all. So, he walked in search of a cigarette. And realised after having walked a lot, that there were no cigarette shops in the 1 km radius of the school.

So, he took loans worth a few lakhs and opened one outside the banned 100m radius. In no time, the shop was a huge success. And now, the man after having 4 big shops around Delhi, owns a car. He is still illiterate and when asked as to whether he would have been a better businessman if he had studied. “No, not at all.”, he says. “If I had studied, I would still be in school, ringing bells.”

That’s destiny for you. And a story of seizing an opportunity when presented. I can tell you many more stories of wisdom and understanding, but I guess some of you all are waiting for the speeches to get over as soon as possible, so that you can possibly have your food and go home. That cute girl in saree is acting unreasonably cocky anyways.

But, I will not go before saying good bye. Even though, I have wanted to be out of school for so many years; Now, that I am out of it I am thinking what if the life ahead is even worse. What if three years of college is longer than 12 years of School? At least, I was comfortable here, if not always happy.

Anyways, I love everyone now. Except two people. But, yes I am leaving this place with a heavy heart. And, hopefully I’ll come back in the future to deliver another inspirational speech for the students.

Till then, have a good taste, and good luck for college.

 

14 thoughts on “6. Farewell Speech (School)

Leave a Reply

