(Please do not murder me for this post’s inherent lack of any sort of conflict, analysis, interest inducing quotes, etc. Go to the other posts.)

Over the last 6 months, I have accumulated much more books than I can read. Now, water has risen above the head. I sat down yesterday, and made a list of my backlog. It’s about 3000 pages of fine gold.

1. The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoevsky

I brought this book, a long time back, because of the cheap rate that it was available. (Rs. 50)

Having read a few pages, I was completely sure that what I was reading was awesomely constructed, continuously conflict-driven, and always insightful. Not a difficult read also, as I expected it to be.

I read about a 180 pages in the first week, which stopped for some reason after a while. Now, I am at the 218th page, and hope to complete this book by the end of my vacations.

2. Mr. Sampath – The Printer Of Malgudi by RK Narayan Done.

Last year, Rk narayan has been the writer I have read the most. Starting with The Bachelor Of Arts, over time I have read The Vendor Of Sweets, Swami and Friends,  The English Teacher, My Days(autobiography) and also a huge part of his short story collection, Malgudi Days. A very good thing about Narayan’s books are that the originals are cheap. Around 100.

3. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I have heard a lot about this book, but wasn’t much impressed after the first page. I guess I’ll let the hype rest and throw myself to the task sometime in the future.

This one cost me 60 bucks only.

4. The Calcutta Chromosome by Amitav Ghosh

I have read the first 3 chapters and I like the way he writes his prose. Hopefully, I’ll complete the rest of the book in this vacation only. This will be my first sci-fi novel, by the way.

And also, this was the only Amitav Ghosh novel I could procure for 60 bucks.

5. My Name Is Red by Orhan Pamuk

I am a big fan of this guy without having read any of his books in entirety. I had even made a post about him sometime back.  In him, I smell genius.

And, this one too has cost 60 units of Indian currency.

6. Godaan by Premchand, also some short stories.

Probably the only Hindi writer that I have read out of my portion. hopefully, I hope that I actually finish at least one of his novels.

Combined price: Rs. 120

7. An Actor Prepares By Constantin Stanislavski

I have read half the book. And hope to read the next half within the next one month. A fabulous book, it was one of those which initiated me to the concept of what makes an artist.

The most expensive book in the list, this one cost me about Rs. 203. But, totally worth it. Original copy too.

8. ) The God Of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

One day, I picked up a copy at the ‘All books for 60 Rs.’ stall and was very impressed by John Updike’s comment on the last page.

It read:- “A novel of ambition must create it’s own language, and this one does.”

I immediately wanted to give this book a try. And eventually did. Even though the first time, it seemed repelling.Hopefully, this book to will be finished in this vacation.

9. ) The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

This is the only book that I have brought from Oxford, and that too for Rs. 40. (Reason: 70% off on a book costing Rs. 135)

What attracted me to it, was of course the reputation of the author and also the first few pages. There is a notice given on the page succeeding the one where they show us all the details about where the book was printed, etc. It read:-

Persons attempting to find a motive in this narrative will be prosecuted; persons attempting to find a moral in it will be banished; persons attempting to find a plot in it will be shot.

BY ORDER OF THE AUTHOR

per

G.G., CHIEF OF ORDINANCE

Such jokes are two a penny these days, but what’s great about this one is the confidence with which it banishes a pseudo-crititc’s skepticism.

Anyways, that’s all for now.

I wasted precious time making up this post, and yours too in a way if you have read till here.

-Sameer

Total cost of the whole series, Rs. 710 for 9 books. (Calculate the average yourself.)

