Before Sunset Image

Jesse and Celine

I have just seen this movie, and the good thing that I like about it is that it is all conversations. (Very much like it’s prequel.) The only hint of a plot based conflict being that these people have limited time to get over with their conversations. (Hence the name.)

The conversations itself happen inside coffee shops, trains, trams, boats, parks, while walking etc. etc. And they are about a lot of issues really, ranging from spirituality, to sex to relationships, etc. etc. Pretty much done to death topics intelligently conversed about, but what is interesting is the way in which these two people talk. It’s something that can be effectively (and convincingly) done only in movies, not in literature. It’s easily one of the most spontaneous movies I have ever seen.

Here’s a quote,

Jesse: You want to know why I wrote that stupid book?
Celine: Why?
Jesse: So that you might come to a reading in Paris and I could walk up to you and ask, “Where the fuck were you?”
Celine: [laughing] No – you thought I’d be here today?
Jesse: I’m serious. I think I wrote it, in a way, to try to find you.
Celine: Okay, that’s – I know that’s not true, but that’s sweet of you to say.
Jesse: I think it is true.

And this,

Jesse: So what kind of songs do you write? I didn’t know you did that.
Celine: What kind?
Jesse: Yeah, sure.
Celine: I don’t know, just songs.
Jesse: Like?
Celine: Like, some are about, you know, people, uh, relationships. One’s about my cat.
Jesse: Sing one.
Celine: No, I can’t, I don’t have a guitar.
Jesse: Oh, co- come on. A cappella.
Celine: No, no, no. I’m not singing a song without a guitar. You’re nuts!
Jesse: Why not? It’s…
Celine: No, okay. Not now. No.
Jesse: One.
Celine: No.
Jesse: If not now, when? Wanna meet here in six months with a guitar? You know, I’ll fly all the way over here, you may or may not make the metro…
Celine: [laughing] Okay, that’s funny.

Here’s more of the same.

And here’s one from it’s prequel, Before Sunrise:

Celine: Each time I wear black, or like, lose my temper, or say anything about anything, you know, they always go, “Oh it’s so French. It’s so cute.” Ugh! I hate that!

