I was planning to post a story today, but couldn’t come up with a good enough title. And since, I hadn’t made a personal update post for a long time, I decided to do it today.

It has been a month since I came back home. (A month is left.) And, the time has been eventful. I have made 14 blog posts in this time. Out of which 4 have been short stories. Also, I have gained a little bit of weight, more so because I get proper food now, and do not sleep that late into the night also. Even then, my weight is nowhere around what I want it to be. I am planning on consuming those protein shakes that promise to build muscle weight. Though, I am a little skeptical as to whether they work or not.

I have read a few books in the meanwhile also, thanks to the convenience of Flipkart. The Middleman by Sankar is the first novel I read that was originally written in Bengali. It is about the state of unemployed people in another generation. I liked how the innocence of a failure in the society is explored. To be honest, there have been a lot of times when I’ve considered myself a failure too. And, have always empathized with people who are good at heart, but somehow cannot make it large in the society. Reading this book was like looking into a future, that I dread.

Other than that, I also read a few of Kafka’s short stories, chapters from Rabindra Nath Tagore’s memoir, and a few short stories from School Days an anthology edited by Ruskin Bond. I plan to read much more in the coming days. Probably another RK Narayan novel.

Other than that, the Chetan Bhagat post that I made a few days back, seems to have broken all records on this humble blog. I made it when I was 50 hits away from 10K and thought that the next post that I make will be celebrating that achievement. But no, from somewhere CB got a whiff of my post, and chose to mention it on his twitter timeline. That day I received 3,498 hits. Almost 100 times more than the average hits I used to get in a day, and 10 times higher than my previous record.

I hope the coming 30 days are even more productive. And, I get to improve my art to a whole new level. 😛

For now, this is all. Until next time, this is Sameer Jha for Narratively Yours, from Navi Mumbai.

 

