Since, it’s difficult to make a list of things I have achieved in this year (next year I will make, perhaps?)- yet the war of acquiring a better taste in art has been fought.

In the below post, I will list some things that I have had a great time consuming in 2012. (They may or may not have released in 2012.)

Top 5 Movies

Moneyball

The story of a coach who doesn’t talk to his players. Often bitter, with a tragic history, determined to change things- Billy Beane ranks up there in my all time favorite characters in movies or literature.

The Tree Of Life

It is a difficult film to see, a difficult film to speak about- in short though, it is a film about death, love and learning told from the POV of a family.

A Separation

In my opinion, one of the best written screenplays ever. Even though it deals with relationships between people, the intensity of circumstances make it more compelling to watch than even a psychological thriller.

Gangs Of Wasseypur 2

The humor, the accent, the anger, the revenge, the soundtrack, the dialogues, the influence of films in the lives of people- all of this make GOW 2 a film that I have seen again and again in order to introduce some aggressiveness in myself.

The Adjustment Bureau

Even though the idea behind the film is interesting, in terms of cinematic brilliance- it is a simple film. With a simple message at the end. Yet, I found myself investing heavily in the fate of David Norris. Probably because of Damon.

Top 5 Songs (English)

Pumped Up Kicks

The story behind a child murderer, this song induces so much style- and can be a good song to hear in one of those ‘Me Against The World Moments.’

Favorite line- “Yeah the sleight of my hand, is now a quick pull trigger…”

Coming Back To Life

It is embarassing for me to have found this song so late. Yet, this was one of those songs that I heard way too often to feel an awakening in myself.

Favorite line- “I was staring straight into the shining sun.”

The Show

Such an adorable song, and mirrors my life so well. Very good to sing along.

Favorite line- “I don’t know where to go, gotta do it alone, I’ve tried, and I don’t know why.”

The End

There was this time when this song played in my head a lot. Even now, when I hear it after a while- it is an intense experience.

Favorite lines- “This is the end, my only friend, the end.”

“No safety or surprise the end. I’ll never look into your eyes again.”

Love Will Keep Us Alive-

Not everything was bad about this year, and among the few things that were good- I celebrated with this song.

Favorite line- “I was standing all alone against the world outside. You were searching for a place to hide.”

Top 5 Songs (Hindi)

Pareshaan

A great song for a bad day. And there is such a sense of release to the ‘Main Pareshaan Pareshaan Pareshaan’ segment. Also, some lines are really soothing.

Favorite line- Zara zara chalne se thakne laga dil mera..

Moora

I’ve had my share of failures too this semester, and one of the reasons I loved GOW 2 so much was this song. Simple logic. Delivered.

Favorite line- Jo bhi wrongwa hai usse, set rightwa karoji, nahin looziyeji hope, thoda fightwa karoji.. thoda fightwa karoji…

Yeh Mera Deewanapan Hai

In the earlier part of 2012, when I was low and stagnant, this song was a great source of consolation. And, what a voice.

Favorite line- Dil se tujhko bedili hai, mujhko hai dil ka guroor.

Hazaar Baar Ruke Hum, Hazaar Baar Chale

Just recently, in a time that was not so good- this song arose a much needed sense of despair after my confidence was going slightly over the top.

Favorite line- Yeh faasle tere galiyon ke, humse tay na hue. Hazaar baar ruke hum, hazaar baar chale..

Woh Dekhnay Mein

Not a great song, but I loved it for the freshness. It gets the expressions of my face running. For happier times.

Favorite line- “Philosophyy ka craze hai, kehti hai yeh ek phase hai..”

That’s it. In the coming days, I’ll write about the books I’ve read, moments of elation I’ve experienced, bummers I’ve endured all in the calendar year of 2012.

But just in case, I don’t. Here’s wishing all the readers of Narratively Yours a very happy and prosperous new year.

