6 things I miss about

Taking inspiration from great literary men, has been a favorite passtime of mine since a long time. And while looking for quotes to put at the beginning of this post, I found four lines by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow that captures the essence of everything that I’ll try to say in this post.

“And the night shall be filled with music,
And the cares, that infest the day,
Shall fold their tents like the Arabs,
and silently steal away.”
― Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
 What a way of looking at life. I thought such things too, once upon a time. In fact, I was so in love with the night, that my newspaper was called ‘The Moon’. Here are 6 things I miss about those times I spent being awake in the dark.

1. You skip the day

I have always fancied an existence that is different from the usual society, and there are few things that make you feel more unique and special than being awake at 5 am.

And, not only it makes you unique it makes you feel really sleepy during the day and when everyone else is bearing the heat, or braving the rains in the name of education- I am seeing strange and weird things in my dreams.

2. Far fetched daydreaming and intense involvement with art-

Not only did I unconsciously and subconsciously dream while sleeping, my nights too were filled by intensely engaging ideas like the idea of one day being a personality giving interviews on TV and eating prawns at a five star. Also, most of these nights, I’d spend watching a movie, or reading something online or listening to music. It felt nice.

3, You have given up on life

At times, you dream of glory. At times, you dream of shame. And, since this society isn’t meant for you- what pain can its constructed markers for failure and success bring?

4. Lots of intoxication

Oftentimes, I’d not spend the night alone, but with friends drinking and smoking and getting higher until it was morning. Which is when, we’d say our goodbyes and go to our sweet beds. Once there, it’d get too dark for our eyes to see, and we’d feel like we were knocking on heaven’s door.

5. 3 am dinner

Easily, the highest point of the night would be the dinner. Mostly had with a spirit of celebration these dinners would range from Chicken Schezwan Rice to Chicken Tikka Masala with Ghee Rice depending on what day of the month it was and how much money we had in our ATMs.

6. Lots of GUILT!

I was rebellious, but not a fool. I knew the toll breaking norms were taking on my body and career, and often felt guilty and vowed to not repeat it. Yet, being the incompetent human being that I always was, I’d not stay true to my resolve and repeat my mistakes the very same night!

So yes, that is it. If you enjoyed reading this, also read my short story on an idle night.

